Traveling While Black: A Few Words for New Mexico

It’s the last day of National Poetry Month, so I thought I’d share a poem I wrote in response to my my trip to New Mexico earlier this month. Nothin’ serious – just a painting of my own. 

The simple beauty of New Mexico

Woos me under the influence 

To pick up a brush and paint.

To experiment with blending desert and sun.
But I’m no visual artist

(Simply romantically involved

With others’ portraits and abstractions).

I

paint with words-

hidden deep between pages of journals,

sometimes,

exposed for the world

that chooses to read. 

   

   

   

 

One thought on “Traveling While Black: A Few Words for New Mexico

Leave a Reply

